The Orchestra

The American Youth Symphony provides landmark Fellowships to musicians ages 15-27 to prepare them for leadership in 21st Century orchestras and ensembles. Musicians receive in-depth exposure to the varied styles of symphonic music being performed today by professional orchestras, from classical masterworks to world premieres and innovative film scores. Competitively selected, Fellows receive a tuition-free scholarship, per-concert stipends, perform at renowned venues such as Royce Hall and Walt Disney Concert Hall, and work alongside world-class guest artists such as Daníel Bjarnason, Anna Clyne, Sarah Chang, Johannes Moser, John Williams, David Newman, Alan Silvestri, Charles Fox, and Lera Auerbach. Designed to challenge, nurture, and inspire, the American Youth Symphony is a musical laboratory where Fellows not only master their parts and develop a deep understanding of musical scores, but also explore their role as musician citizens within their community. At the American Youth Symphony, we aim to create leaders, innovative thinkers, and articulate communicators for the 21st century and beyond.

Read more about the history and mission of the American Youth Symphony >
How to audition for the American Youth Symphony >

2015/16 Roster 

Philip Marten, concertmaster (USC)
Chandler Yu, associate concertmaster (Colburn Conservatory)
Rachel Ostler, assistant concertmaster (Colburn Conservatory)
Tiffany Chung (USC)
Momchil Enchev (Bob Cole Conservatory)
Christine Lee (Crossroads School for Arts and Sciences)
Yuiko Grace Nakano (Manhattan School of Music, graduate)
Emma Sandberg (USC)
Nicole Sauder (UCLA)
Goeun Shin (Bob Cole Conservatory)

Natalie Yu, principal (Colburn Conservatory)
Justin Woo, assistant principal (USC)
Catherine Arai (UCLA)
Cassie Borish (USC)
Anna Corcoran (UCLA)
Deborah Kim (Pepperdine University)
JooHwi Kim (LA City College)
Andrzej Kunecki (Azusa Pacific University)
Emma McAllister (Bob Cole Conservatory)
Stephanie Spencer (UCLA)
Jonathan Tang (CalArts)
Yu-Ting Wu (Cal Arts)

Laura Jesson, principal (USC)
Sequoyah Sugiyama, assistant principal
Georgi Dimitrov (USC)
Celia Daggy (Crossroads School for the Arts and Sciences)
Seulgee Park (Glendale Community College)
Keila Huss (UCLA)
Sean Chung (USC Keck School of Medicine)
Annaliese Reed (Bob Cole Conservatory, graduate)
Joy Yi (CalArts)
Alec Santamaria (UCLA)
Ben Bartelt (Yale, graduate)
Alex Lee (CSU, Fullerton)

Coleman Itzkoff, principal (USC)
Iona Batchelder, associate principal (University HS)
Tracy Lang (Irvine HS)
Daniel Lim (Cleveland Institute of Music, graduate)
Pierre Derycz (University of Michigan graduate)
Bryant Gozali (UCLA)
Danna Xue (Arcadia HS)
Christopher DeFazio (Chapman University)

Spencer Baldwin, principal (Azusa Pacific University)
Sukyung Chun, assistant principal (USC)
Anna Scheider (Colburn Conservatory)
Timothy Jensen (Bob Cole Conservatory)
Freddy Hernandez (CSUN)
Sean O’Hara (UCLA, graduate)
David Bowman (CSUN, graduate)
Mark Gutierrez (UCLA)

Anthony Trionfo, principal (Colburn Conservatory)
Elizabeth Lu (Colburn Conservatory)
Victoria Batta (University of Redlands)

Zach Pulse, principal (USC)
Amy Gollins (USC)
Marissa Honda (USC)

Marissa Honda (USC)

Taylor Marino, principal (Colburn Conservatory)
Sérgio Coelho (USC)
Signe Somer (Colburn Conservatory)
Angelo Quail (Colburn Conservatory)

Lieza Hansen, co-principal (USC)
Jennifer Lane, co-principal (Colburn Conservatory)

Julian Zheng, principal (Colburn Conservatory)
Anna Lenhart, assistant principal (USC)
Patrick Hodge (Colburn Conservatory)
Aija Mattson (USC)
Olivier Huebscher (Indiana University, graduate)

Jena Wight, principal (Colburn Conservatory)
Jonathan Bhatia (UCLA)
Hayato Tanaka (Colburn Conservatory)

Steven Warren, principal (Colburn Conservatory, graduate)
Daniel Lawlor, (Colburn Conservatory)

Robinson Schulze (Colburn Conservatory)

Joseph Mora, principal (Bob Cole Conservatory)

Wesley Strasser, principal (USC)

Brice Burton, principal (USC)
William McVay (USC)
Brian Cannady (CSU, Fullerton)
Michael Daley (USC)

Alexis Colner (USC)
Elisabeth Zosseder (USC)

Kathryn Norring (USC)